Main navigation
Porsche - World Endurance Championship
Porsche - World Endurance Championship
Porsche - World Endurance Championship

World Endurance Championship

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is again the highlight of this year’s Sports Car World Endurance Championship WEC. Eight rounds make up the 2015 calendar, with the WEC visiting the Nürburgring for the first time. The Porsche team campaigns the innovative Porsche 919 Hybrid in the top LMP1 class, with the Porsche Manthey squad fielding the Porsche 911 RSR in the GTE-Pro class.

The classes

Sports prototypes and sports cars contest the Sports Car World Endurance Championship WEC in four different classes. The LMP1 and LMP2 classes are reserved for sports prototypes. The LMGTE Pro class is for modified standard sports cars like the Porsche 911 RSR. These vehicles are also eligible to run in the LMGTE Am class, but only if they comply with the LMGTE Pro specifications of the previous year. The rules also stipulate that a crew of 2 or 3 drivers must include at least one bronze plus one bronze or silver driver.

The classifications

As well as an overall classification for drivers and manufacturers, there are also the following classifications: FIA World Endurance Cup for LMGTE drivers, a World Cup for LMGTE manufacturers, FIA Endurance Cup for LMGTE-Am drivers, LMP2 drivers and LMP1 private drivers as well as the FIA Endurance Trophy for teams in the LMP1, LMP2, LMGTE-Pro and LMGTE-Am classes. Points are awarded for the ten top places in each class as follows: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1. The only exception to this is the Le Mans 24 Hours with the points allocated as follows: 50-36-30-24-20-16-12-8-4-2.